Friday, April 25, 2014 · 12:35 a.m.

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. — Two area football players, South Pittsburg running back JaJuan Lankford and Baylor kicker Rafael Gaglianone, received Mr. Football awards from the TSSAA and the Tennessee Titans on Monday afternoon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

Lankford received the Class A Mr. Football Back of the Year award after racking up over 1,500 yards and 20 touchdowns on the season, helping lead the Pirates to Friday’s Class 1A championship game. The 5-foot-11, 175-pound senior, who has over 5,000 yards rushing in his career, beat out Trinity Christian’s Kyle Akin and Eagleville’s Chris Hale for the honor. 

South Pittsburg will square off against a one-loss Union City (12-1) squad in Friday’s Class 1A title game at Tucker Stadium on the campus of Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville, Tenn.

Gaglianone was awarded the Mr. Football Kicker of the Year honor after connecting on 8-of-12 field goal, including a season-long 57-yarder, while booting 42 of his 44 kickoffs into the end zone for touchbacks. The 6-foot, 200-pound senior, a finalist for the 2012 Kicker of the Year award, committed to Wisconsin in November. 

Marion County running back/linebacker Blake Zeman was a finalist for the Class A Mr. Football Lineman of the Year award, but was beaten out by Coalfield’s Zach Stewart—a Tennessee commitment

Others receiving awards on Monday included CPA’s Paul Adams (Class AA lineman), Fulton’s Daryl Rollins-Davis (Class AA back), Oakland’s Jack Jones (Class AAA lineman), Station Camp’s Josh Malone (Class AAA back), Webb’s Brant Mitchell (DII-A lineman), Webb’s Todd Kelly Jr., (DII-A lineman), Brentwood Academy’s Derek Barnett (DII-AA lineman) and Ensworth’s D’Andre Ferby (DII-AA back). 

Reader's Recap
Daily news delivered directly to your inbox.   sign up
Press Esc to close